Title
School of Arts & Sciences Faculty

ART, ART THERAPY and GRAPHIC DESIGN

Nina Bellisio, Associate Professor of Visual Communications
B.F.A., Cornell University; M.F.A., University of California, Berkeley
Additional Studies: Columbia University
Contact Professor Bellisio: 845-398-4155 or nbellisi@stac.edu

Carol Greiff Lagstein, Director of Art Therapy
B.F.A, California College of the Arts; M.P.S, Pratt Institute; M.S.W. Columbia University
Contact Professor Lagstein: 845-398-4166 or clagstei@stac.edu 


BIOLOGY, Chemistry, Natural Sciences, and PHysics

Steven J. Burns, Professor of Chemistry
B.S. Worcester Polytechnic Institute; Ph.D., Boston College
Contact Dr. Burns: 845-398-4176 or sburns@stac.edu

Jessica Chow, Assistant Professor of Exercise Science and Biology
B.S., Queens College; M.S., Ph.D., Springfield College
Contact Dr. Chow: 845-398-4237 or jchow@stac.edu

Paul Dent, Assistant Professor of Chemistry
B.S., Marietta College; M.Phil., Ph.D., Syracuse University 
Contact Dr. Dent: 845-398-4172 or pdent@stac.edu

Donald Johnson, Associate Professor of Physics
B.S., Rhodes College; M.A., Ph.D., Washington University
Contact Dr. Johnson: 845-398-4170 or djohnson@stac.edu

Heather Rave, Instructor of Physics
B.S., St. Thomas Aquinas College; M.S., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; Additional Studies: Drexel University
Contact Professor Rave: 845-398-4188 or hrave@stac.edu

Clara Toth, Professor of Biology
B.S., College of Mt. St. Vincent; M.S., Fordham University; M.S., PhD., New York Medical College
Contact Dr. Toth: 845-398-4178 or ctoth@stac.edu

Bianca Wentzell, Assistant Professor of Biology
B.S., Siena College; Ph.D., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Contact Dr. Wentzell: bwentzel@stac.edu

Ryan Wynne, Associate Professor of Biology
B.A., East Stroudsburg University, Ph.D., Lehigh University
Contact Dr. Wynne: 845-398-4124 or rwynne@stac.edu


COMMUNICATION ARTS 

L. John Durney, Professor of Communications
B.A., Manhattan College; M.A., Ed.M., Ed.D, Columbia University; 
Additional Studies: Iona College, Columbia University 
Contact Dr. Durney: 845-398-4116 or ldurney@stac.edu

William Prior, Associate Professor of Communication Arts
B.A., University of Delaware; M.A., William Paterson University; M.F.A., William Paterson University
Additional Studies: Fairleigh Dickinson University, New York University 
Contact Professor Prior: 845-398-4141 or wprior@stac.edu

Elaine Winship, Instructor of Communication Arts
M.S., Fordham University; M.A., Syracuse University
Contact Professor Winship: 845-398-4329 or ewinship@stac.edu


COMPUTER SCIENCE

Marie Postner, Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science
B.A., Marymount Manhattan College; M.A., Fordham University; M.S., Polytechnic Institute of New York; Ed.D., Columbia University. Additional Studies: Fordham University
Contact Dr. Postner: 845-398-4179 or mpostner@stac.edu

Robert Vermilyer, Professor of Computer Science
B.S., Grand Valley State College; M.S., Michigan Technological University; Ph.D., Nova Southeastern University
Contact Dr. Vermilyer: 845-398-4131 or rvermily@stac.edu 


CRIMINAL JUSTICE

Ellen F. Chayet, Professor of Criminal Justice
B.A., C.U.N.Y., Queens College; M.A., Northeastern University; Ph.D., Brandeis University
Contact Dr. Chayet: 845-398-4192 or echayet@stac.edu

Ira Promisel, Instructor of Criminal Justice
B.A., SUNY Albany; M.P.A., Marist; M.A., SUNY Albany; PhD. Candidate, City University of New York
Contact Professor Promisel: 845-398-4208 or ipromisel@stac.edu


ENGLISH AND CREATIVE WRITING

Gerald McCarthy, Professor of English
B.A., State University of New York at Geneseo; M.F.A., University of Iowa
Contact Professor McCarthy: 845-398-4134 or gmccarth@stac.edu

Robert D. Murray, Professor of English, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs 
B.A., M.A., Ph.D., Rutgers University
Contact Dr. Murray: 845-398-4125 or rmurray@stac.edu

Charles L. O’Neill, Professor of English
B.A., M.A., Seton Hall University; Ph.D., New York University
Contact Dr. O'Neill: 845-398-4145 or coneill@stac.edu

Nathaniel Amos Rothschild, Assistant Professor of English
B.A., Yale University; M.S.Ed. Fordham University; M.A., Ph.D., Boston University 
Contact Dr. Rothschild: 845-398-4148 or nrothsch@stac.edu

Staci Shultz,  Assistant Professor of English
B.A., University of California, Berkeley; M.A., Boston College; Ph.D., University of Michigan
Contact Dr. Shultz: 845-398-4276 or sshultz@stac.edu

Monica Wendel, Assistant Professor of Composition and Creative Writing
B.A. SUNY Geneseo; M.F.A. New York University
Contact Professor Wendel: 845-398-4384 or mwendel@stac.edu
 


HISTORY

Heath J. Bowen, Associate Professor of History, Interim Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences 
B.A., Minnesota State University; M.A., Bowling Green State University; Ph.D., Michigan State University
Contact Dr. Bowen: 845-398-4380 or hbowen@stac.edu

Neerja Chaturvedi, Professor of History
B.A., University of Delhi; M.A., University of Garwhal; M.Phil., Jawaharlal Nehru University;  Ph.D, Michigan State University
Contact Dr. Chaturvedi: 845-398-4059 or nchaturv@stac.edu

Stacy Kinlock Sewell, Professor of History, Assistant Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences 
B.A., The New School; Ph.D., Rutgers University
Contact Dr. Sewell: 845-398-4137 or ssewell@stac.edu


MATHEMATICS

Marie Postner, Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science
B.A., Marymount Manhattan College; M.A., Fordham University; M.S., Polytechnic Institute of New York; Ed.D., Columbia University. Additional Studies: Fordham University
Contact Dr. Postner: 845-398-4179 or mpostner@stac.edu

Meghan De Witt, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
B.S., Brigham Young University; M.A., Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Contact Dr. De Witt: 845-398-4157 or mdewitt@stac.edu


MODERN LANGUAGES

Denize Lauture, Assistant Professor of French 
B.A., M.S., City College of New York; Ph.D. Candidate: City University of New York 
Contact Professor Lauture: 845-398-4132 or dlauture@stac.edu

Maria Ann Roglieri, Professor of Foreign Languages 
A.B., Columbia University; A.M.; Ph.D., Harvard University
Contact Dr. Roglieri: 845-398-4078 or mroglier@stac.edu


MUSIC

William Evan Matthews, Associate Professor of Music
B.M.E., University of Montevallo; M.A., Columbia University; Ed.D., Columbia University
Contact Dr. Matthews: 845-398-4144 or ematthews@stac.edu


PHILOSOPHY

David Keppler, Professor of Philosophy
B.S., M.A., University of Wisconsin (Milwaukee); M.A., Ph.D., University of Illinois (Urbana)
Contact Dr. Keppler: 845-398-4140 or dkeppler@stac.edu


PSYCHOLOGY

Richard F. Heath, Professor of Psychology
B.A., Alvernia College; M.A., Ph.D., Fordham University
Contact Dr. Heath: 845-398-4231 or rheath@stac.edu

Susan K. Marell, Professor of Psychology
B.S., Brooklyn College; M.A., Ph.D., New York University
Contact Dr. Marell: 845-398-4191 or smarell@stac.edu

Benjamin Wagner, Assistant Professor of Psychology
B.A., Denison University; Ph.D., The Ohio State University
Contact Dr. Wagner: 845-398-4212 or bwagner@stac.edu


RELIGIOUS STUDIES

Craig Martin, Associate Professor of Religious Studies
B.A. Anderson University; M.A., Claremont School of Theology; M.Phil., Ph.D. Syracuse University
Contact Dr. Martin: 845-398-4189 or cmartin@stac.edu

Robert Trawick, Associate Professor of Religious Studies
B.A., Duke University; M.A., University of Chicago; Ph.D., Emory University
Contact Dr. Trawick: 845-398-4183 or rtrawick@stac.edu


SOCIOLOGY

Christian J. Churchill, Professor of Sociology
B.A., Marlboro College; Ph.D., Brandeis University
Contact Dr. Churchill: 845-398-4387 or cchurchi@stac.edu


THERAPEUTIC RECREATION

Linda Levine-Madori, Professor of Therapeutic Recreation
B.F.A., Lehman College; M.S., CUNY (CTRS); Graduate Creative Arts Therapies, Pratt Institute (ATR-BC); Ph.D., New York University, Health Studies; Licensed Creative Arts Therapist (LCAT).
Contact Dr. Levine-Madori: 845-398-4184 or llevinem@stac.edu


EMERITUS FACULTY

Mary McGann Burns (deceased), Professor of English and Communication
John J. Casazza (deceased), Professor of Chemistry
Joseph Coyne, Professor of Psychology
M. Perpetua Deane, O.P. (deceased), Professor of Romance Languages
Marie Jean Dempsey, O.P., Professor of Humanities
Karen Edelmann, Professor of Art
John Galotto (deceased), Professor of Psychology
Joseph A. Keane, Professor of Physics and Mathematics
Florette R. Koffler, Professor of Romance Languages
Celeste Leger (deceased), O.P., Professor of Social Sciences
Catherine Maher, O.P. (deceased), Professor of Spanish
Denton May, Professor of English
Ann Paul Mollman (deceased), O.P., Professor of Natural Sciences
Peter D. O'Connor (deceased), Professor of English
Gonzalo Plasencia, Professor of Spanish
Carl Rattner, Professor of Art
Patricia Ann Reilly (deceased), O.P., Professor of English
John Rosko, Professor of Biology
Robert C. Schelin, Professor of Social Sciences
James Vendetti, Professor of Communications